Deputy Ministry of Tourism

The Ministry of Education, Sports and Youth is the competent Ministry for the provision of formal education, providing programs at the secondary, higher and adults education level, as follows:

Secondary Vocational Education and Training

It aims at students aged 15 to 18 years. Programs are provided in a three-year curriculum with theoretical and practical direction. Among the specializations are the following: Tourist Agency and Hotel Clerks, Tourist Studies, Management of Hotel units, Cooks and Waiters, Rooms Division Management, Viticulture-Winery, Plant Production and Organic Farming.

Evening Schools of Technical and Vocational Education

They are addressed to people who have not completed Secondary Education. Second chance Evening Schools of Technical and Vocational Education are provided in a three-year curriculum. The programs include among others the following: Cooks – Waiters, Reception, Housekeeping, Tourist Agency and Hotel clerks.

Apprenticeship System
It aims at students aged 14 to 18 years. Programs are provided in a three-year study cycle with theoretical and on the job training. The following programs are offered among others: Food and Beverage, Housekeeping, Maintenance of Hotel Units and Swimming Pools.

Adults’ Education

Post-secondary Vocational Education and Training Institutes

They are addressed to the graduates of Secondary Education.Free programs are provided in a two-year curriculum. These are Programs in Culinary Arts, Baking - Pastry, and Dairying - Cheesemaking

Lifelong Vocational Education and Training Programs (VET) (Afternoon and Evening Sections of Technical Schools)
They aim at people over 18 who want to acquire additional qualifications, learn new skills and competences that will enable them to start a career in the hospitality industry. The three-year course program fees are €239.20 and the fees for the one year course are €153.78. The offered courses are a three-year course in Food preparation and Service, one year course in Culinary Arts, Cypriot cuisine, international cuisine, Bar-flambe, Patisserie/Bakery and Housekeeping.

Higher Education – Department of Higher Education
Public Universities (University of Cyprus, Cyprus University of Technology, Open University)
Private Universities (European University Cyprus, University of Nicosia, Neapolis University Pafos, Frederick University, University of Central Lancashire, Philips University, American University of Cyprus)
Public Institutes of Tertiary Education such as the Higher Hotel Institute of Cyprus, the School for Tourist Guides etc.

    In addition to the above educational programs, the Ministry operates the DEETE Online Platform, which is a tool for employers who are looking for qualified personnel and graduates of Vocational Education and Training programs who are looking for work.